Daughter

February 1st, 2013

Another February is passing by bringing in memories of difficult times? Or is it the time when memories of lives well spent are cherished?

February, the month in which the people who gave me life, decided to let go of theirs. Feb 17, 2008 – the day my mother left us. Two years later, my father waited for February to arrive to join my mom – on Feb 1st 2011, we were without any parents. It was never a coincidence, they planned it like that, or so I believe.

For daddy’s little girl, he meant everything. He was the model for her future husband, for her unborn children. My father gave me a secure life, an education, gave me freedom, taught me to be wiser, and probably gave me everything I wanted. Perhaps everything I have and I ever will, is given by him. Even my husband – he found the perfect person for me to live my life with, just the way he had a wonderful life with my mom. I could never be more happier for all the times I had with him.

Still, I miss playing with him- pulling his big ears, teasing him about his perfect nose (which by the way, I never got, but my siblings did)…. most of all I miss being able to pick up the phone and just call – talk about nothing or something good or bad in life, nonstop, for he always listened…
Just miss that presence, the smile….

I am glad that he is still present with me, in my dreams. We converse, sometime it feels so real, its hard to believe it was just a dream. I know he is watching over me. I know he is happy for me and I know he is there for me…

Thanks for everything, thanks for the memories, daddy!

“That’s my daughter in the water,
Everything she owns I bought her
Everything she owns
Everything she knows I taught her
Everything she knows
Everything I say, She takes to heart
Every time she takes,
She takes apart
That’s my daughter in the water,
Every time she fell I caught her
Every time she fell……….”
– Loudon Wainwright

Leave a Reply

