Bon Voyage…

Baby bird is flying away. Flying away to a far away land, the land that holds a lot of promises for the baby bird. Leaving Chrysalis, and flying far far away…

Time just passes by. Looking back, the transformation as years go by, is just fascinating.

It feels strange thinking yesterday, he was just a small kid. The one who reminded mama, “I am a big kid now”…

Singing along Barney songs, Lion King’s “Hakkuna Matata, It means don’t worry”.. And graduating then to Greenday, Eminem, Pink Floyd and many more…

A “Top Dog” at school, reading all the books he could get hold off, from fiction to fantasies and science fictions.. Books and then to movies, TV Shows and to podcasts…

But of all the things that he picked up along the years, one thing remains constant. The ability to laugh at the simple things …
And for me he still remains, my pride.. my little boy…

On this Independence day, my boy is starting out on a journey, far away from the family. He is starting out for school, with a plan to learn something that he wants to learn. Along the way, I am sure he get to learn a lot of life lessons too…

I am happy for my little boy. Yet, the mother in me, is a tiny bit worried. The thought of not being able to see him for a long long time, breaks my heart. The tears just doesn’t stop. “Don’t cry, Mommy”, he says. I wish it would stop…

Wish you all the very best, my dear!

Almost about two decades ago, I was preparing for a travel like this. Travel to the land of free. I remember my excitement at the time. My mom and dad, were happy yet sad. At the time, I don’t think I ever knew what they felt. But now, I know it very well.

A feeling of happiness, accompanied by a sadness… I know it now. Remembering the teary eyes of my parents and feeling those emotions…

Wishing my little boy all the very best, and knowing in my mind that he will be just fine…

I remain… a parent, just like mine were….

What goes around comes around…

8 comments on “Bon Voyage…”

  1. Beautiful Hema….all the best to Harish !

  2. Beautifully written Hema…..It is amazing how time flies….i still remember him from when he was a kid and he had visited our house and spent the whole time in our game room where all the books were. Good wishes to him and all the best!! Where ever he goes, he will rock!!! Where is he going by the way?

  3. Wow, this is great. Now I’m going to cry.

  4. well written ,hema.touching my heart too!


Leave a Reply

