Butterfly Kisses

By: Menon, Hema

Oct 21 2013

Category: Getting Personal, Happiness, Life, Thanks

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:5.67mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/23 sec
Camera:hp PhotoSmart 43x series

“Its going to be a girl”, the nurse stated, much to my delight. As I walked out of the doctor’s office in Carrollton, the feeling in my mind was one of pure joy. I am gonna have a girl!  I got into my car, turned on to KVIL and was driving back home… and then I heard it…

“There’s two things I know for sure:
She was sent here from heaven and she’s daddy’s little girl.
As I drop to my knees by her bed at night
She talks to Jesus and I close my eyes
and I thank god for all of the joy in my life
Oh, but most of all
For butterfly kisses after bedtime prayer;
sticking little white flowers all up in her hair;…..”

The song was “Butterfly Kisses” by Bob Carlisle…. What a song!

Yup, she’s gonna be her daddy’s little girl, just like I was, to my dad.

Well, that’s was years ago…….

“Sweet 16 today
She’s looking like her mama a little more everyday”. No, not really. Lucky for her  🙂

It feels like it was just yesterday that she was born. A quiet little girl, who slept thru without any fuss, when she was young, and who grew up to be just the sweetest and a wise one too…

My joy!

She surprises me often with her words. She inspires me to be more, to do more..

“You can do it.”, she says, when I pause, questioning myself.

And at times,

“How do you think you can inspire others, when you cannot even motivate yourself to do what you want to do”? The words of wisdom from a nine or was she ten at the time?

And off late, I say “Be good”, and prompt came the reply, “When was I ever not good? “.

Yeah, funny girl… You’ve always been good. Yes, be good. Always!

Just yesterday, she was showing me the video of her first Mohiniyattom performance. A tiny little girl, who was not even eight at the time, dancing to the tunes of Cholkettu, that too, a 11 minute performance! And there she is on the stage….. 

To my joy, this day, I wish a very happy birthday…..

Wishing many many years of health and happiness to you dear!

Leave a Reply

