If I could … Return to Pooh Corner

A photograph from years ago. What is the little one looking at? Is he staring at a tiny ant that is passing by? Or is he amazed by his own shadow?

Oh, such lovely hair, all so curly and tied on the top. Well, the hair style, nope, it was not his choice.
Wearing his favorite Lion king shorts and tee, he is just so cute..

In my mind, I can still see the little one, just the way he is, In his curly hair and lion king clothes.

And if I were to call him to turn, look at me, I would have got the cutest of the smiles that you would ever see… How do I know, you ask? Well, I know for sure, its my little boy!

Oh no, this is taking me back to the good old days with “Winnie the Pooh” , “Lion King” and
“Back to the days of Christopher Robin and Pooh “….

“It’s hard to explain how a few precious things
Seem to follow throughout all our lives
After all’s said and done I was watching my son
Sleeping there with my bear by his side
So I tucked him in, I kissed him and as I was going
I swear that the old bear whispered “Boy welcome home”

– Kenny Loggins, “Return to Pooh Corner”


Well, reality is that kids grow up. They grow up faster than you can imagine, and at times their life takes them away from home… and you wish for the return to the Pooh corner….

Today is a celebration for my baby, for he was born on this date. For the first time in all these years, he is away from home, but not away from our hearts. We will celebrate for you, dear and you can have fun too.

For me, he is still my little boy, even though he is all grown up. My pride! And as I sit here, miles and miles away from him, all I could think of is what… if I could…

If I could, I would be with you.

If I could, I would give you a hug ( and you would shrug it off :))

If I could, I would take a photograph ( and you will turn your face away :))

and if I could……

If I could, I would try to shield your innocence from time
But that part of life I gave you isn’t mine
I watched you grow so I could let you go
If, if I could, I would help you make it through those hungry years
But I know that I can never cry your tears, but I would, if I could
Yes, I would, yes, I would, if I could

– Barbra Streisand,  “If I could

Happy Birthday dear… Wishing many more returns of the day… Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

